Bathhouse for camp ideas???

ncstewart

5 year old buck +
So I need some help on what to do. Like title says I am planning on building a bathhouse at my camp but not sure where to start. I have no real building experience so any ideas would be appreciated.
I have water and electricity on site. I also have a septic tank in place from my old house. I am wanting to build it like 6x8 with toilet and shower.
Would you build it on a slab or just pier and beam?
How would you do the plumbing to make it easy to winterize?
What do y'all think of tankless water heaters?
Any and all advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Nathan

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

first of all, make it bigger so you can include a changing room with hooks and a bench, and maybe a screened in area to air out your hunting clothes. make sure all plumbing pitches back to the supply and install a drain valve to drain the whole system. you can use a frost free hydrant to supply it, and disconnect the water line when not in use. plumb with pex pipe, since it is somewhat burst resistant. a tankless water heater would be perfect for this because you don't have to drain a 40 or 50 gallon tank every time. put rv antifreeze into the toilet bowl to make sure it doesn't freeze.

I like the idea of making it bigger and a screen house. No need for a slab. We had one years ago at a hunting cabin and used 2x8 floor joist with plywood on the top and bottom. The top floor was removable and we stored pots and pans and other stuff in the floor.

I don't have any pictures but at my place I spent 3 springs in a muddy wet crawl space fixing ruptured copper pipes. No more of that today. I converted the whole system to pex with a Manablock. Each fixture is on its own line. Put an air compressor fitting on the hot side and the cold side of the manifold by pipe clamping it into a pex hose.

The entire system can be blown out 1 port at a time in about 10 minutes by just hooking up the compressor and opening one line at a time.