All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kill plot stories

shawnv

5 year old buck +
Just trying to get some intel as to what people's success has been if they have a kill plot. How big, what shape or terrain features does it have, is it in ag or big woods, how far was it from a feeding plot or larger ag, how far from bedding was it?

Last year I shot a buck the 2nd weekend of bow season in our kill plot. It's 30 yds wide and 100 yds long of beans. It was a magnet planted 2ND week of june. This yr just small bucks showed up within shooting hrs.

I am new to food plots. I hunt 150 private acres (30 of which I own) and just 2 years ago began creating 2 small kill plots. I am in deep, heavy forest...no ag for20 or 30 miles...and no hard mast. Low pressure and low deer densities. One plot is boomeranged shaped and the other is hourglass shaped....the are both under and acre in size and all I have in them now is rye. My plots attract deer. They have become kind of central social hotspot as well....I see rubs and scrapes developing all around them. This year I missed what would have been my biggest buck ever on the last day of bow.

Natty - good deal ........ the only grocery store around for miles !! I'll bet it IS a social hotspot for deer - especially during the rut. Sounds like a great set-up.

Natty - good deal ........ the only grocery store around for miles !! I'll bet it IS a social hotspot for deer - especially during the rut. Sounds like a great set-up.

Thanks Bowsnbucks! You nailed it. The rye is the only game in town. I can't even imagine how it would transform my late season hunting if I can eventually improve the soil to the point that I can do a Lic Creek type of rotation. Got a real low pH right now...about 4.8.