Will grafts be affected by cold?

Derek Reese 29

5 year old buck +
So I am new to this grafting business and was wondering about grafts surviving a cold snap. I grafted 4 scions onto existing apple limbs last week and now the temp is supposed to dip below freezing (~30 I believe) for the next 2 mornings. Do I need to protect them in any way or do I need to? Also, should I hold off on grafting more (I have a few pear scions that need grafted onto my existing pear trees) until it warms up. This appears to be the last of the below freezing weather for my area. IMG_8817[1].JPG

I have a couple I grafted in pots last weekend. I’m taking those into the garage tomorrow night. I have one regraft I will cover with a 5 gal bucket. All the rest will be in their own and I’ll hope for the best.

I think grafts are more susceptible to dehydration than to freezing temperatures. Wrap them good and tight and they should be fine.

Hardly an expert on grafts, but mine made it through a couple hard frosts recently with no problem.

I think grafts are more susceptible to dehydration than to freezing temperatures. Wrap them good and tight and they should be fine.
I wrapped them really tight with parafilm a couple times around the graft site and tied it off with a couple tight knots.

Well don't know about the cold affecting the grafts as tonight will be the coldest night till next fall, but wondering about blood? As I was just making the cut for the last graft this morning, the knife slipped and got me....3 stitches later and we are good to go...be careful with those sharp tools everyone! To note, I finished the graft while holding my blood-soaked hand up in the air and even put the supplies away before going inside for help...probably gonna label that one as "Bloody Bosc" on the tag...