What have foodplots done for you?

Powder

5 year old buck +
I have been studying up on foodplotting for a couple years and have tried a two small plots. One clover/rye (now all clover) and the other turnips/radishes. My plan is to make them significantly larger for next year. My hope is to have two-two acre plots and another one that is maybe an acre at most.

What I'm wondering is, what have foodplots done for you? Have they made it more fun because of the effort you're putting in and you just like that part of it? Or do they really, truelly make for better success? Do you see an increase in numbers, size, what?

At the end of the day, is it really worth it? (yes, I realize 'worth it' can be justified many ways)

Just for reference, I'm in BIG woods with no ag fields for 50+ miles. Will my deer react differently than deer in ag country?

I'm brand new to habitat work and property management. I only have 36 acres and it's all wooded. My first project was to clear some old logging roads and turn them into food plot trails. The work itself turned out to be almost as much fun as hunting...almost. We harvested three deer this year. One crossing near one of the trails, one actually feeding where two trails converged and the third near an old clear cut. Would we have harvested these deer without the food plots? Who knows. Was the time spent working with my sons, talking about being a land steward and just being in the great outdoors worth the time and money spent? Without question. I've only hunted six days this season but during the times when my mind wandered a little on stand it was thinking about what habitat improvements I want to make next.

I deal with only three small plots - 1/4 acre, 1/3 acre and 1/3 acre that I've been maintaining for over fifteen years.