Teeth Pics... Age???

Catscratch

5 year old buck +
Anybody got a guess? I read up on the internet but have no experience judging.

3.5.......but I am no expert.

At least 4, possibly a year or two older. The pic angles are not the best. But the sharp slope on the last cusp of the back molar indicates at least 4.

^^^ I agree. Minimum 4

Tooth wear is highly variable. Even our biologists who look at 100s of deer a year here will just say 3.5 years or older. Tooth aging under a microscope is more of a science.

At least 4, possibly a year or two older. The pic angles are not the best. But the sharp slope on the last cusp of the back molar indicates at least 4.

Interesting. What other indicators are looked at?

I know the angle isn't the best. Working in the dark on a head that was killed on Saturday with 70 degree temps everyday since. He didn't smell great and I wasn't up to doing more tinkering than I thought I needed to.

Tooth wear is highly variable. Even our biologists who look at 100s of deer a year here will just say 3.5 years or older. Tooth aging under a microscope is more of a science.

I see what you are saying. Just looking for ideas/guesses as I've never even tried to age a deer before other than on the hoof. To honest with you, if he is big enough that I want to shoot him then I tend to just take the shot, age hasn't mattered much before. I'm in a different hunting and land owning situation now and all of a sudden I find myself kind of caring about age... I sincerely hope this deer is 4.5 or older to "justify" killing him. If you guys all said he was 2.5-3.5 I would be kicking myself a little right now.

Interesting. What other indicators are looked at?

I know the angle isn't the best. Working in the dark on a head that was killed on Saturday with 70 degree temps everyday since. He didn't smell great and I wasn't up to doing more tinkering than I thought I needed to.