Suggestions

Robert86

5 year old buck +
Just wanted some opinions, I have a one acre plot with rye in it yet from last year, I want to plant turnips and radishes in it come roughly August 1st. Do I leave it until then, spread seed and cultipack it, or use some spray as well? Or mow it, disc it and spread seed then? I would usually mow it, disc it then spread seed but was wondering if I could get away with spreading and cultipacking. Or if anyone has different ideas im all ears, Im in wisconsin, thanks in advance!

I'm no expert by any means on food plots, but following the advice of guys on here - we've broadcast radishes & turnips into standing buckwheat (as it was turning yellow) - and then had good luck with just cultipacking the buckwheat so as to roll it down over the seed. The flattened BW thatch acted as a mulch of sorts and kept more moisture in the soil. I learned this from AG guys on here that have much more experience at this stuff!!

Unless you want rye regen i'd terminate the rye prior to seed heads becoming viable which is likely prior to August 1st. Spraying is a good way to terminate if you want to wait until 8/1 to seed because you can leave it standing and then broadcast seed and mow or roll the rye on top of it.

Last edited:
I’d mow asap ( or before Rye goes to seed) then disc a few times, pack, seed, re-pack . Obviously the discing and seeding do as close to a rain day as you can within your planting window of brassicas. It all depends on how picky you are with your plots as well . You got weeds in it now? I know the Rye helps with that but should still take a look. If you got lots of weeds now, without Gly or discing , your germination rate will definitely decrease . More than one way to do a plot as we all know.

I have had very good luck here with broadcasting then mowing or rolling and getting thatch on the ground. I very seldom work the ground for brassicas. I can’t remember when I didn’t have a great stand.