Pie sale at Stark Bros.

Charles Clear

5 year old buck +
No affiliation with Stark, this is my first time ordering from them. They are running a Pie sale on certain types of trees. 3.14 flat rate shipping. I picked up a couple of chestnut crabapple trees for 43$ I thought it was a good deal and would pass it along. I probable should of bought the enterprise apples for that price too though.

A "pie" sale. What a gimmick! :-) Anything to cause interest, I guess.

I saw that add from Starks also and was considering ordering chestnut crabs too. I live chatted with them and learned they are grafted on M7 root stock. I don't have any experience with M7. What are your opinions on this tree please

Here is some informatino I have gleaned from the internet:
M7 Rootstock: Usually free standing, although sometimes anchorage can be a problem. Half of standard-sized tree. Moderately resistant to crown rot and to fire blight. Suckering can be a problem. Trees on M7 are quite cold hardy. The M7 root systems tends to be vertically oriented; if the roots hit an impenetrable clay pan at 12 to 18 inches, root growth usually stops and the tree "runts out". Not as precocious as M26, less winter-hardy than M26, better for wet soils. Can be treated as a small MM106 in most respects.
Mature height: 2.2m - 3m
Age starts fruiting: 3-4 years
Spacing: 3m or more between trees
Staking: Temporary stake for first 4-5 years, may require permanent stake in lighter soils
Good features: Resistant to fireblight, Resistant to mildew
Problems: Susceptible to wooly aphid, Not especially cold-hardy
Requirements: Ground around the tree should be kept weed-free (e.g. mulched).

Thank you Prof for that info. I think I'll pass on the m7 crabs.

Thank you Prof for that info. I think I'll pass on the m7 crabs.
If you want the crab apple trees larger you can just plant the graft union below grade.