New property, asking for advice

Walleyeman

Yearling... With promise
I just bought this 50 acres in North Carolina. About 30 acres is soy beans rotated with corn with the rest woods. The season already started here so I’m not going to do any real work besides a couple stands I put up, but this winter I want to start putting it all together.

I’ve never done this before so want any advice based off the topo map/google earth image below.

This is all proposed stuff but want your input
Diagonal blue- make bedding (ridges)
Green- food plot
Red dot- stand
Blue dot- water hole (put in low runoff spots)
Yellow dot- mineral
Yellow line- hunter trail
Black line- property line

Attachments

• E3CE5338-59BA-43CA-87A2-3E9D1558ADA8.jpeg
    E3CE5338-59BA-43CA-87A2-3E9D1558ADA8.jpeg
    406.3 KB · Views: 80
  • C495ACC3-6619-4AD0-9C4B-611794B6B8B0.jpeg
    C495ACC3-6619-4AD0-9C4B-611794B6B8B0.jpeg
    528.4 KB · Views: 71
I just bought this 50 acres in North Carolina. A

If you want real observation ... post a 1000 acre view surrounding your property.

Do nothing for 2 years except places a few tree stands and scout, observe, and take notes. Realize your excited, that is why most 1st dates don't go well.

You have a great transition point and anything you do will disrupt deer movement.

Now enjoy the next 30 posts of deer & Deer Hunting magazine advice ... :emoji_wink:

so you own the current crop of beans? get em harvested, let them finance what comes next, get that winter rye in there after the harvest and let that feed the deer through the winter. Get familiar with fruit trees, plant em early and reap years of benefit. a walk through with a habitat biologist will aid you well.

If you want real observation ... post a 1000 acre view surrounding your property.

Do nothing for 2 years except places a few tree stands and scout, observe, and take notes. Realize your excited, that is why most 1st dates don't go well.