New Northern Whitetail Crabs

Gross144

A good 3 year old buck
Hey all. Quick question. I am new to the apple tree biz and just picked up 4 northern Whitetail crabs, 2 wickson and 2 crossbow. Came in early April and looked super healthy.
My plan was to plant upstate New York in the Southern tier but plans changed. Now they are here on Long Island in root trapper bags for the time being.

My question is, they are starting to flower like crazy. If pollinated does that mean apples?
And if so as new trees should I pinch off some of the blossoms?

thanks

Attachments

• 903020F4-017D-411E-AC55-E93208012606.jpeg
    903020F4-017D-411E-AC55-E93208012606.jpeg
    481.4 KB · Views: 54
  • D4C4F4B0-2255-4E98-A66E-1F5AA9B2B621.jpeg
    D4C4F4B0-2255-4E98-A66E-1F5AA9B2B621.jpeg
    428.1 KB · Views: 52
Pinch them all off. The tree does not need the added stress of trying to bring fruit to muturity while trin to establish itself. Also, apple trees that blossom early in life tend to get their size stunted.

Last edited:
Pinch them all off. The tree does not need the added stress of trying to bring fruit to muturity while trin to establish itself. Also, apple trees that blossom early in life tend to get their size stunted.

Prof, do those stunted trees ever recover? I purchased a 3yo Snowsweet on B118 from a Michigan wildlife nursery in 2018. The branches drooped down and the central leader looked like a Shepard's hook making me think it fruited at the nursery the year before I got it. I used 10' conduit to straighten the leader and trimmed a few branches off at planting. This is the 3rd year in a row it's flowered prolifically and I've pinched them all off...but the tree hasn't grown an inch since being put in ground. Can anything be done?