My “Happy Accident” plot!

Westwind

5 year old buck +
This year has been a challenge with the drought and heat in my area. I kept trying to get my plots greened up and they kept getting roasted!

This is my first year with a Woods PSS82 seeder. On one hand I kinda wish I had a no-till drill but I have so many spots that I want to seed but have tree stumps. The PSS 84 has been awesome- the main drawback is that I chose to set it to till aggressively on a couple planting sessions and ended up with burned up seedlings and bare dirt.

I’m in decent shape now. Everything is green and I was able to get all my plots into something. I did quite a bit of 50#/50#/50# rye/oats/peas in the big seed box and clover and groundhog radishes in the small box.

The largest plot I have…. Well it was weedy but planted the last couple years. This year I tried several rounds of failed plantings. On a whim, I ordered Warm Season Soil Builder from Green Cover. I planted it too late- around July 4 but it was the only thing that grew. A week after Labor Day, I ran the seeder through it and put in the 50/50/50 mix I listed above. All the sorghum Sudan was bent over but it stood back up after a week or so. Seems like there is a mix of deer forage growing and im sure it’s tall enough for bedding. Anyway- here are a few pics. Foxtail seems to be the main weed problem.

Here is what Green Cover lists as being in the Warm Season Soil Builder: Non-GMO Soybeans, Black Beans Forage Soybeans, Mung Beans, Sunn Hemp, Sorghum Sudan, Pearl Millet, African Cabbage, Mustard, Sunflower, Buckwheat, Okra, Flax, Rapeseed

Its about waist tall In all the areas I ran the seeder through.

IMG_1876.jpeg

Pretty thick!

IMG_1880.jpeg