I need fall food plot advice please

silver pigeon

Yearling... With promise
I am in west central illinois. I am a novice when it comes to food plots. I have four acres of corn that will be harvested in the next month or so. Is it possible to no-till drill right into the corn stalks after it is harvested? I have several bags of Outfitters Blend which is 63% wheat, 14% oats, 6% rye, 3% brassicas, 2% radish, and 1% berseem clover that I need to use up. I am hoping to just drill this seed blend right into the corn stalks and see what happens. It will be planted back into beans next spring. Can you suggest another type of seed to add, more Brassicas, radish, turnips? I don't quite have enough Outfitters Blend to plant four acres. Should I leave some standing corn? I am not a farmer someone farms it for me, so I have access to some equipment.

How many pounds of seed do you have?

I would add peas and radish. How many pounds of each will depend on how many pounds of seed you have. Probably go with mor wheat or rye.

Again it will depend on how much seed you have.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

To answer your 1st question... Yes, you can drill into corn stalks. Have you considered leaving some of the corn standing through the winter? If you can afford to do so, I suggest leaving some of it stand through the winter. Mow it off next spring before bean planting time. You will need to burn down the wheat prior to planting beans next spring too.