All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hydraulic pump?

D

dipper

ok here is the back hoe I bought a couple years ago. I got it cheap, of course and it didn't work. It's a 3pt, home made, and it has an independent hydraulic system that runs off the pto. All the Rams work except for the big one that controls the bucket. When I hook the ram directly to my tractor hydraulics, it works great.
So levers work, Rams work. When I spin the gears that turn the units hydraulic pump, there is virtually no resistance. I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure that my problem. The units pump, and they aren't cheap.
So I'm at the shop getting some hoses made for something different. A pump for $150. What? It's brand freaking new? Originally $1200?
What's the freaking catch I ask? Apparently this company is going tits up and they need to sell it. So I but it having no clue if it's going to give me the correct speed to make the backhoe functional.
E0223D9F-E8BF-42C5-AA35-2474EBA94936.jpg

So it's 75 liters/minute at 470 rpm. So that comes out to 19.7 gallons/ minute. The tractor pto is 540, but the pump has a seperate gear so I have to be going than 540? Right?
Here is a picture of the backhoe. Anyone smarter than me and think there is a chance this pump will give me reasonable operating speed?

2B55E874-DE2F-4CE2-8F20-54351A806E2D.jpg

The gear from the pto to the pump
19C32DA2-5607-4F76-86DE-38954CAAF289.jpg

Looks to me like you could use the pump WITHOUT the gear. 19+ GPM is a lot of flow. Plenty to run that big cylinder IMHO.

If that chain drives the pump, it would only increase the flow (big gear on the drive side, small gear on the driven side). If the pump can take it, the increased RPM would only help.