Height of semi dwarf trees when I have them pruned?

BobinCt

5 year old buck +
I’m only growing the trees for deer hunting purposes only. I have a lot of Bud 118s. Some of my trees are about 4-6 years old and I hire a guy who manages an orchard to prune them yearly. What’s the max height you would keep these trees at? I should have asked him last month when he pruned them but I’ll get an answer from you experts . Also, should I have them pruned yearly still? He said I should when I asked, but he’s obviously making money from me for doing it.

I’m no expert but I’ll give my 2 cents. Keeping in mind that these are deer trees, not for your own harvest I’d say let them get as tall as they naturally want. Tall hanging fruit will fall on its own and feed the deer in a more spread out time line. I’m not sure how many trees or free time you have but pruning them yourself wouldn’t be too hard. They should be established now so pruning each tree shouldn’t take too long.

Agree, no need to limit the height. I only prune off the low stuff and anything growing in or crossing on the wildlife fruit trees.

About 3 or 4 weeks ago, I asked the head of Penn State's horticulture / fruit tree group about pruning fruit trees for deer / wildlife. Without going into great details, he said take out dead-diseased-damaged-crossing branches as needed. He told me that if the scaffold branches are established with good crotch angles, I'd only need to prune probably every 3 years. Height of trees should be governed by IF I needed to pick the apples. If not, no need to keep trees short. ( I told him we have bears. Higher trees with thinner, flexible limbs won't support bears' weight - so apples are safer higher up. )

You might have to do some crown lifting to get M7 rootstock trees tall enough to keep them enough out of reach of deer that they aren't killed by them.
Check out these two videos of a young orchard and a mature orchard.

I agree with what others here have said.