All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

GRIN Apple/Pear Scion

buckvelvet

5 year old buck +
Hey fellas, for those of you that were lucky enough to get some this year, how did they look and any success?

I got 9 different pear scion varieties this year. Most were average to good with a few great varieties. So far I haven't had any variety die out completely and most have good growth. Slowest to bud out more than any other was Hudar. Biggest scions and also fastest growing was Stacey. Since it's my first time bench grafting I'm very happy with the results. All pears are on ofxh87 rootsttock from cummins.

Varieties were Stacey, hudar, luscious, patten, nova, Vermont beauty, Ayer, sauvignac, Beierschmidtt

I'm currently making a spreadsheet for the apples they offer with FB resistance and harvest times. I don't know if it will be helpful but I would like to get all my scions from there next year hopefully.

I'm currently making a spreadsheet for the apples they offer with FB resistance and harvest times. I don't know if it will be helpful but I would like to get all my scions from there next year hopefully.
Are you willing to share that document when finished?

There are so many apples to choose from on GRIN, it is better if you search for fire blight resistance and something else you want to limit the number. They have 153 listed as very resistant to fireblight for blossoms and 599 as very resistant to fire blight for the shoots.

Start at www.Ars-grin.gov/cgi-bin/npgs/html/desclist.pl?115 to see all the descriptor variables for apple.

You can search for multiple descriptors on their beta website. Npgsweb.ars-grin.gov/gringlobal/search.aspx

Their beta search appears to be down right now.