Digging Pond

bowhunternw

5 year old buck +
I was thinking of trying to dig in a pond on my property. What I am wondering is there a way to determine to what elevation it would hold water. It is a fairly wet and flat terrain, and would be filled from the water table. My thoughts were to dig a pilot hole and then come back and see if it has filled with water. The reason I ask is I would like to get a rough idea of how much dirt I would have to excavate.

I dug a 1 acre pond 8-10 ft deep had to have a 1:1 pitch the first 8 feet per the DNR. 400 loads... 2 off road 4x4 dumpers..

Bowhunter....if you know anyone that does perc tests for sewer systems, they would likely have a T-handled hand auger kit with a 2 or 3 inch auger bit. This would allow you to probe down to around 10ft to check water table.

Seek out MNFish on this site. I believe he's a pond builder by trade.

You don't need to get to the water table, you just need to hold more than you lose to evaporation and leakage. This can be done with clay added to the hole, or a liner, or there might be enough heavy soils that it will hold water without any help. If its staying wet now, unless you pierce the layer that's retaining that water, it should stay wet when you add more.

I hope to add a pond or three to my place before too long. Two of them will be dammed hollows (draws), and I might try digging a hole on some flatter ground that stays soggy too.

With my soils, I have areas that don't drain well but I'm not sure how much of it is because of clay and how deep that clay is or if it's that there's enough duff in the top soil that it soaks up the moisture and doesn't let go of it. I have a good diversity of soils around my property, so each spot could bring it's own challenges.

I wish SD!! My dream job for sure. I'm a medical device engineer by trade but have designed and built a few dug out ponds. Is the pond designed to raise fish, water hole for ducks, deer, or other wildlife?