Biochar

Telemark

5 year old buck +
Anyone using it? Results?

I have been reading a lot about it. I should be able to make a huge batch of it this fall.

I have wood down and cut up in two of my plots that I will be making some out of when I get the chance. I'm not expecting it to be a game changer by any means but the wood is there and I'd like to burn it up so theres really no reason not to make it into char.

From what I have seen/read on the net, the char is one component, and then you need to add compost to make it biochar. I have a big pile of compost going, to which I will add a big pile of charcoal. I throw everything into that compost bin, including fireplace ash for potassium and animal bones for phosphorus, and I pee on it to add nitrogen. In summer I will add all the lawn clippings, and then in fall it should be good to go.

I've never tried it before, and I don't know anyone who has. But the info I found online is quite compelling.

It looks like most of the supporting evidence shows it makes the biggest difference on depleted or marginal soils.

If you already have good OM and don’t have drastic soil deficiencies, it may not be worth the purchase cost and/or initial nitrogen zap it causes.

It does seem to help the soil retain several nutrients, just make sure that you aren’t already in surplus for them... because it would be a complete waste at that point.

Here is a pretty deep dive from an organic gardener perspective. Notice at the end, the nutrients that held higher percentages in the Biochar samples, and if you have issues retaining them consider Biochar as a soil amendment.

As an example, the soils at my house and the family farm are drastically different. My house is very sandy loam. Almost sugar sand. My lawn leeches NPK exceptionally fast. If I don’t use a slow, time release fert it is gone in the next rain. I am heavily considering applying a cubic yard of charges Biochar to aid in water and nutrient retention.