Bicolor Lespedeza

Bowman

5 year old buck +
I was reading Yoderjac's thread on beans and he mentioned this. Wondering if anyone has grown this.

I tried to find a source for seed years ago and hit a brick wall. Maybe it's more available these day??

This is a good thread for me to include this warning:

Bicolor Lespedeza is a non-native and can be invasive under some conditions. This is one where you need to be sure to do your homework. It works very well for me in my uses. With my soils and in my area, it does not seem to be invasive. I've been using it for about 10 years and except for a few individual stray plants, it has not shown up outside the planted areas. It does not seem to outcompete my native plants and is actually pretty tough to establish in my area. I decided to convert one stand back to beans/corn. There was a little bounce back from the bicolor the first year, but by the second year, it was gone and other weeds predominate. Make sure you do your homework and make sure it is appropriate for your application and doesn't become invasive. If you do decide to use is and want to know the tricks I used to establish it, let me know.

I bought some from the local coop one year and used Hancock one year when they had it on sale. You can use fire or bushhogging high every 3 years or so to keep the sand healthy. It is a perennial legume so I have great stands that were planted almost 10 years ago. It has lots of advantages for quail and turkey. It is not a preferred deer browse but does will use stands of it for fawning.

Thanks,

Jack

Arborgen sells bareroot 55$/1000

I planted 1000 2 springs ago

Lost them all in Texas heat

bill

Arborgen sells bareroot 55$/1000

I planted 1000 2 springs ago

Lost them all in Texas heat

bill
It's much better and less expensive to establish by seed.