Best Old Tractor

bowhunternw

5 year old buck +
Is there any opinions on a great little old tractor for maintaining land? I see tons of older 8N's for sale but I realize that they have their limitations, for example no live pto and only a couple of gears. What I am looking for is something I can put a mower on and also some cultivation for food plots. I am kind of leaning towards a wd 45 with live pto right now. I kind of need to keep the price down so that I can afford some implements. Thanks

I'm far from an expert on the matter but here are a couple thoughts.
Is you property flat or steep? If it's steep, I'd try to stick with wide front end tractors.
How much tillage do think you'll be doing and if you plan to pull plows, what type of soil do you have? Sandy soil requires less horsepower than heavy clay.
How many acres are you planning to maintain and how tight will you need the tractor to turn? Split brakes are really nice for maneuvering tight turns.
I'm on my 3rd tractor since 1986. My 1st was a 1953 Ford NAA (Golden Jubilee). It was okay for a starter tractor but it was a little rough and needed a lot of repairs, so I moved up to a 1975 Ford 3,000. That was a decent tractor for me, 33hp, 2wd, gasoline, and no front loader, and I used it for quite a few years.
My latest tractor is a Farmtrac 545 with is basically a knockoff of the Ford 3,000 except it's 4wd, diesel, and has a front loader. Other than having some mechanical issues with it, it's a nice, heavy tractor.

You may as well consider what implements you'll be using to help your decision on what tractor will work for you.
And, IMO, as for tillage, stay away from moldboard plows. With the herbicides available these days, there is no good reason for turning soil over and burying (killing) all that good stuff on the top few inches of soil. I'd go with a chisel plow.