Turnips/Radish Rain forecast....Throw and Mow

Ck1084

A good 3 year old buck
I'm going to try the throw and mow method for the first time this weekend.

It looks like we might get over half an inch of rain this weekend then none in the forecast for a week. Would you plant or wait for more consistent rain?

If you dont get them in you still have plenty of time. I'm further North than you and wont be doing my Brassica for at least 2 weeks.

I’d put them in when you can get them in. The premise behind TNM is to have enough vegetation to mow down over top of your seed to conserve moisture. How much vegetation are you mowing down?

I am zone 6a and won’t sow brassicas until mid August. Since I have converted to TNM I don’t even look at if rain is coming or not.

I'm planting on an old strip job that I am reclaiming (nothing has grown here for 60+ years...not even weeds).

I've been adding tons of lime for the last 3-4 years along with tilling. I started with Buckwheat/WR but the last 2 years I've been adding Turnips/Radish/Oats/Clover. The first plot is a year ahead of the second set of pictures so its a little thicker.

Attachments

• 20190622_124754.jpg
    20190622_124754.jpg
    838.6 KB · Views: 30
  • 20190622_123554.jpg
    20190622_123554.jpg
    888.4 KB · Views: 29
  • 20190622_123205.jpg
    20190622_123205.jpg
    869.6 KB · Views: 26
I'm planting on an old strip job that I am reclaiming (nothing has grown here for 60+ years...not even weeds).

I've been adding tons of lime for the last 3-4 years along with tilling. I started with Buckwheat/WR but the last 2 years I've been adding Turnips/Radish/Oats/Clover. The first plot is a year ahead of the second set of pictures so its a little thicker.