Replacing a goldrush

Charman03

5 year old buck +
I planted a few goldrush this spring and although they grew pretty decent it’s obvious I’m going to be fighting CAR around here pretty bad. I’m going to keep one around but I’m wanting to replace the one pictured below.

I was going to dig it up and take it somewhere else but now I’m thinking about just grafting a different variety to the existing tree most likely liberty. What would be my plan of action for grafting this tree. How low would you cut it? There’s a liberty close I can pull scions from. Thoughts?91FBC702-07DA-4C73-B91A-41C9CF0F436A.jpeg0F91AF26-96A0-4E91-8480-562DB1C79E6A.jpeg

I'm not the guy to answer your grafting question..but from what I've read and seen posted, aside from the leaves looking bad..CAR doesn't really seem to bother goldrush very much.

I'm no expert either but goldrush is one of the more disease resistant varieties isn't it?
If you where going to graft it over id be tempted to graft above first set of scaffolds to see if long term the liberty was any better than the goldrush. However since your driveway is right there you may not want any Frankenstein trees standing out like a sore thumb

CAR isn't a serious problem with Goldrush at a lot of places. Most of the northern guys on here grow the apple and really like it. I would do some asking around before making a decision to topwork it. It is a problem in my area, but I know there are guys from your state on here who grow and love the apple.

2 goldrush and a crimson crisp got the CAR pretty bad at this spot this year. This tree is close to the house and I just want a nice looking tree in the future

If you want another variety, I would wait until spring. You can cleft graft before it breaks dormancy. I'd cut it off just below the lowest branches. Another option is bark grafting. For that, you need to wait until they start leafing out so the sap is running and the bark slips.

Thanks,

jack