MG question

Bowsnbucks

5 year old buck +
I have no knowledge of MG and what it needs to survive/flourish. My camp is on a ridge-top in a northern-tier county of Pa. It's an old farmstead with existing fields, both in plots and fallow. Zone 6 / 5 border. Would MG make it in such a place ?? We could use it for more screens/additions if you guys think it would go.

Reach out to Bill.....or do some digging on some of his posts/threads on MG. Bill has several years of experience with MG and has been one of my MG Mentor's so to speak. I will tell you that growing them in containers from cutting is EASY....so easy I can do it! I am not sure how far north it will survive and do well. I do know it doesn't like consistent flooding and requires full sun exposure. If you are interested I tried to document my process in my property tour thread - this coming spring will be my first year of actually having it in the ground.

I second j-bird's post and will add you are probably not much farther north than me in the edge of the northern border of IN and I have had decent success albeit only being planted last year.

EVERY single rhizome I planted that had solid sun exposure lived...the ones that saw shade cover in the mornings due to along a Eastern tree line struggled and saw less than 60% survival....but ONE of these spots I know now was due to the spring time it being where the water/thaw collected and I have no doubt was still far too wet for survival...they like water but don't want continued saturation.

I am going to be planting about 75 more rhizomes this Spring as well and know now I will focus on the sunny areas....I may make a go at the shadier spots but will wait years when I can risk my own cuttings and not bought rhizomes.

I'm in 5a and they do just fine. You should be good for wintering over.