All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Making dirt

buckdeer1

5 year old buck +
I didn't know what else to call the thread but has anyone taken really bad soil and improved it to be able to plan a food plot?Alot of my soil is real light but I am wanting a small plot in an area that we won't even farm,its so sandy.I am thinking about starting small on it maybe 30ft wide by 200 ft long.I normally would just use my ag field in this area but I think next year we will plant cotton and that doesn't make to good of deer attractant.I am planning on digging out about 2 ft deep then mixing cow manure and topsoil,then tilling and doing soil test.What we do to deer hunt?I know sounds crazy but hey Grant Woods bought deer dirt

I'm new to most of what is being discussed... but FWIW Gary Casper has an interesting fb group called deer dirt first... u might look at what they discuss. A lot of discussion about enhancing soil with microorganisms etc...

Also ray archuleta and Dave Brandt have some videos/ discussion on soil improvements

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Don’t disc. Keep something growing at all times. Don’t disc. Don’t disc. Don’t disc. Keep something growing. Add chicken / cow manure. Don’t disc. Generate biomass. There isn’t a short term solution.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Try throw and mow/roll.