Green soybeans

Thetrooper

5 year old buck +
Hey guys first time poster here. I'm located in zone 6b southern OH. So I have been managing my 100 acres for 10 years now and planted probably 40-50 plots, mostly your standard clover, brassica, ceral grain type plots. I have put in chufa a couple times, milo switchgrass and more trees than I can count. Trying to step my game up this year and get some soybeans going.

Our deer density is very high so I am planning to do one or two 2 acre plots. I am going to use electric fence so they dont get demolished. I would like to experiment with soybeans to have pods for late season but I usually hold a ton of deer and quality bucks late season so it's not the focus of my inquiry.

I'm surrounded by ag fields and i I dont usually get much early season action with most the bucks feasting on 200+ acre neighboring fields. I have noticed like most hunters that once the soybeans go yellow the deer dont really eat them anymore, but I feel like the early season the bucks are still on a habit of movement in and around the areas where the soybeans were/are.

Our season opens late September and I would like to have an actual green field of beans to hunt during late September and early October and not one that is turning yellow or dropping leaves. What kind of planting dates or varieties should I be looking at?

I know you can throw beans out in a mix to sweeten it up but I would like a pure stand of beans to produce viable pods as well. Our first average frost date is Oct 20th.

Was also thinking about possibly using peas as an alternative and electric fencing them too. Not sure what would be the best option. Early season greens are the ticket here even compared to shelled corn, and although clover and other standard mixes are eaten they dont hold a candle to draw of fresh green soybeans in my experience.

Thanks
-Pete