Giant Miscanthus in River Bottom

jdb2095

Buck Fawn
As this is my first time posting on here, I wanted to extend a thank you to everyone who contributes to this forum. It's been a wealth of knowledge for me and my growth in all things habitat related!

I'll step away from my soapbox now...

The reason for my post is related to establishing a screen of Giant Miscanthus in a parcel of river bottoms. My family has land in southwest Minnesota that is sectioned into two areas, the first being an upland native prairie pasture and the second being a slough / open river bottom that runs flush against the Minnesota River.

I've started to invest into the river bottom due to the great environment it creates to hold large mature deer. Although this area has a lot of potential, it is also a floodplain during most springs (usually flooding from April 10th to the first week in May).

As I've been creating plans on how to enhance this area, screening has become a focus... especially in areas that connect to nearby AG field. This is where my interest in Giant Miscanthus has developed, however, I can't seem to find specific information that discusses GM's ability to tolerate seasonal flooding.

Initially upon researching this topic, it seems that many people said GM does not tolerate wet feet well... However, there was a recent research study published, highlighting that GM does in fact withstand flooding (or at least tolerates it enough to sustain growth). I'll link the article here: https://www.lancasterfarming.com/fa...cle_99447180-472b-11ee-8bd5-4bf6ab0f1e22.html

My question to the general group is if you've had success growing GM in river bottoms and if you've seen this recent study on GM being used in flood prone areas?

TLDR: Have you have success growing Giant Miscanthus in flood prone area's? (Annual spring flooding)

Thx -

Josh