All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dealing with leaves in spring?

MojoRisin

5 year old buck +
Please bear with me on what might seem to be stupid questions to some of you keeping in mind I am still pretty new at this.

Two years ago a cleared an area in the woods (1/4 acre lets say) and got a plot started with GRO’s Soil Builder mix. It did well considering the acidic soil. I broadcast additional clover, WR, and oats in there in that fall.

This area is fairly wet and it gets lots of leaves. I felt I needed to rake the leaves this past spring to plant again. After raking the wet leaves, the dirt looked bare. Does dormant clover and WR look like dormant grass (brown and flat)? Did I probably rake out the clover and WR?

I want to make this area a perennial clover plot for a few years to minimize my work. I know I will have to rake again or the leaves will prohibit growth. I raked last year in April and planted the Soil Builder mix in there again and have once again added clover, WR, oats, and some brassicas this year. I would like to frost seed more clover this winter but am concerned the seed won’t make it to the soil, getting trapped on the leaves. I can’t do any fall raking because it is obviously hunting season.

Any recommendations for me?