Wild pear grafting.

Mahindra3016

5 year old buck +
I have been topworking wild pears for a few years here, we have an overload of them in a 10 acre patch I would guess there are 60 to 80 trees. They are not callery pears but possibly crosses.

The deer love them, but unfortunately most are gone by bow season, so I have been grafting some over to later dropping pears. I have read before about pears suckering wildly after a brutal pruning, while some do, others sucker very little, graft takes have been close to 100%

In the pictures below you will see 2 different "pre" graft techniques I have been using. The picture of the tree with the hollow section had 5 or 6 leaders, I cut it back to one, and plan on grafting to the newer growth partly up the right side of the tree. In this case the hollow stump is not connected to the leader that I left, at least not above ground

The second method I will be starting to use is to cut trees off a year in advance and then graft to a few of the suckers rather than bark grafting. I think that this will make a better tree in the long run, but time will tell. In this case I will probably choose the left leader and cut the right one off at the ground. I cut 3 trees off last year and all 3 put on similar growth.

Sent from my SM-G892U using Tapatalk

Unfortunately my photos are failing to upload, I will try again later!

That’s some large pear trees. We have several of these at our place but much smaller. I need to transplant a couple. A hunters choice from the wildlife group and the other an Ayers. I think these are an excellent free source of rootstock. Grafting these over helps prevent birds from spreading more of the little pears too. I see these along the road to work and behind my work.