Where to buy chemicals for buckthorn?

wisconsinteacher

5 year old buck +
I need to buy chemicals for killing buckthorn and ironwood. Where is the best place to buy it in NW Wisconsin? I'm looking for Garlon 4 and the dye for it. I'm a complete rookie on this stuff and I think this is what I need.

What is your ratio and do you add the blue dye?

I recently got 7.5 gallons from here. Best price I could find + free shipping.

I pour it with some diesel + Blue dye in one of these https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009KM29S/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 [Edit: these sprayer cans do not last long with diesel] And I've been cutting and spraying buckthorn stumps like crazy. That little hand sprayer is nice to just have with when i'm doing TSI/hinge cutting and stump spraying all the buckthorn at the same time. Might want something with a bit more capacity on a serious buckthorn specific mission but one of those little cans will cover a lot of stumps. I think I've been doing 15-20% triclopyr 80-85% diesel but I'd read the label before listening to me.

Once my home 5 acres gets forestry mulched i'll probably have to use the atv strayer to attack all the regen..

Last edited:
I called Keystone Pest Solutions and they recommended Relegate. He said it is almost identical to Garlon 4.

I know the dye is not needed, I was just thinking it would be helpful when working on a bigger area.

I called Keystone Pest Solutions and they recommended Relegate. He said it is almost identical to Garlon 4.

I know the dye is not needed, I was just thinking it would be helpful when working on a bigger area.

The dye is cheap, a little goes a long ways and if you cut a bunch before you spray it's worth it to make sure you hit them all.