When to remove tree tube?

DrewMc

A good 3 year old buck
For apple and pear trees specifically, when is it time to remove the tree tube? All of the trees I planted 3 years ago are now out of the tubes and some have decently long horizontal branches. When is it time to actually remove the tube?

I'm an expert by no means, but I would imagine when the threat of a buck rubbing the tree (or perhaps a rodent girdling the tree) is removed. Unless you need the tubes elsewhere, keep them on as long as the girth of the tree allows.

I leave them until tree would split them. I don't plan to re use tubes. Some are designed to split, if not a hook blade in utility knife works good to cut the tube off without damaging bark.

You can remove the tube, but you still need to protect the tree from antler rubbing? Or, excess browsing? You might also need to protect the base from mice girdling? Consider 5'-6' diameter cage that is 4' to 5' tall. It kinda stings when you protect and baby a tree for 8 years then a buck comes by in October and trashes it in 30 seconds. :emoji_cold_sweat:

0363a7ea35c7c095c030644ee8000ebc.gif

Much like the nWo, tree tubes are 4 life!!

(of the tube)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
For apple and pear trees specifically, when is it time to remove the tree tube? All of the trees I planted 3 years ago are now out of the tubes and some have decently long horizontal branches. When is it time to actually remove the tube?

In my experience, for apples anyway, it is before you plant the tree! I tried it and it was a complete failure. The tubed part of the tree warmed up more quickly in the spring and I got a lot of sprouts near the base. Then, it held in too much moisture in the spring and I had powdery mildew issues. I've done much better caging.

There ya go again,Jack

.......just had to start the old tube v cage thing again

bill

There ya go again,Jack

.......just had to start the old tube v cage thing again

bill