All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Spray, disk and throw plot kill plot

Native Hunter

5 year old buck +
This little nook of about 1/4 acres was mostly goldenrods and other weeds. I sprayed with gly, disked and threw out cereal grains and brassicas. Has been getting good use with the nearby cover.

I think these little kill plots are the best! Seems deer use them all day when it's right next to the bedding cover. It's like us having a fridge in our bedroom. Great work! It looks like you did it right.

I think these little kill plots are the best! Seems deer use them all day when it's right next to the bedding cover. It's like us having a fridge in our bedroom. Great work! It looks like you did it right.

Thanks, this is my first year of doing the little micro plots. It really doesn't take that much more time and has the benefits you mentioned. I have some more that I haven't been to since I planted them and don't have a cam on them. I watched from a distance last weekend and all were being used.

I plant a few that I never hunt. They're just there so if the deer wants a quick snack it can get up and walk 20 ft eat and go back to bed and never leave our property during daylight. Can't say enough good things about micro plots.

NH, great little spot you got there. Looks like that trio of the big girls approves too.

NH, great little spot you got there. Looks like that trio of the big girls approves too.

Yep, they seem to like it. And I like having the big gals around with rut time approaching.

Looks great NH! I'm excited to see how your season pans out!