Seeding Rates

Hotspot

Yearling... With promise
Hello,
I am attempting my first food plot (2019 season). There is a well known food plotter (dbltree) who says he mixed his larger seeds and broadcasts them all together. Yet his seed rates varied for each larger seed (Rye, Oats, & Peas) How do you get the ratio of each seed correct in the hopper when mixing?

Hope this isn't a dumb question. Remember, I am new at all of this.

What is your mix going to be? What is your method of soil prep going to be?

Mix them as best you can before you load the hopper then plant. If it’s a little uneven you’ll never know and neither will the deer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You need the full seeding recommendations per acre for each forage that you plan to plant. Then you determine the % of each forage that you want your mix to contain. Then it’s simple math from there.

If the Winter Rye seeding rate is 100 lbs/acre and you want it to be 25% of your mix you would seed it at 25lbs/acre. Things like brassicas or clover has a much lower full seeding rate per acre. Again it is basic math of the % of each forage you want in your mix based off full seeding rates.

Hello,
I am attempting my first food plot (2019 season). There is a well known food plotter (dbltree) who says he mixed his larger seeds and broadcasts them all together. Yet his seed rates varied for each larger seed (Rye, Oats, & Peas) How do you get the ratio of each seed correct in the hopper when mixing?

Hope this isn't a dumb question. Remember, I am new at all of this.