Seeding Brassica into existing clover

WTNUT

5 year old buck +
It is my unicorn. I love not plot more than a freshly planted mixture of clover and Brassicas. The problem is I am not very good at getting the Brassicas to establish when I seed into an established plot. I have probably had the most success lightly discing and broadcasting. Mowing tight and seeding, applying Gly and broadcasting or not till drilling have not worked well but all three may have failed in part due to errors on my part.

The problem seems to be that I have very lush thick clover stands that always seem to overcome the Brassicas before they get big enough to to compete.

Have asked before, will ask again, what has worked for you?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

01814a24-edac-4ef4-aa57-8aa9e41d13bd.jpg

This plot was an older ladino clover plot. I was experimenting with methods. 1/2 the field was sprayed with 1 qt/ac of gly. THe other was mowed flat with a bushhog. When I say flat, I mean almost scalping. I then drilled Radish with a small no-till drill. I did this in early fall with rain in the forecast. The radish was able to germinate and start growing before the clover filled back in from the root system.

I've done this many times since then and it has always worked well for me. You have to top kill the clover. If not, the brassica doesn't germinate well. I don't know if this works well with taller clovers or not, but it worked well with ladino and Durana.

I have heard guys saying they have done this without a no-till drill by surface broadcasting and cultipacking. I have not tried that personally, but if the clover is suppressed sufficiently and you get timely rain, I can't see why it won't work.

Thanks,

Jack

Radish will grow a bit faster than say ptt so if what you are planting is having trouble competing maybe try planting radishs (if you havent already)