Ruined my KS season before it started!

lazy_turtle

Yearling... With promise
Just here to complain. Haha.

This is my first year hunting as a KS resident, so I should have done more research. I live in eastern KS, and planned to hunt whitetails here the entire archery season. But, my in-laws have some land with muleys (rare) in western KS, so I put in to get drawn for a rifle any sex/any species tag. I'm realizing that I will only be able to hunt the 10 day rifle season in western KS. I was under the impression that could buy as many tags as you want, but only tag one of them.

So yeah... I only get to hunt 10 days this year for the unlikely mule deer to show up. Unless I just shoot some does.

So the purchase of the mule deer tag negates the whitetail archery tag…?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You are only allowed 1 tag of any sorts that would allow for the taking of a buck in KS to my knowledge.

I will say the largest mule deer I’ve ever seen in my life was in SE Colorado in an area along a pinion canyon surrounded by high plains not in the mountains.

One of the few management regulations that KS still has right (1 buck State).

Enjoy your hunt. Mule deer numbers are dropping and aren't anywhere close to what they were a short time ago. Might be a rare opportunity to live in the "good old days".

Screenshot_20230912_202448_Chrome.jpg

One of the few management regulations that KS still has right (1 buck State).

Enjoy your hunt. Mule deer numbers are dropping and aren't anywhere close to what they were a short time ago. Might be a rare opportunity to live in the "good old days".

View attachment 57204
One reason we have nice bucks state wide

I hear your plight . I wish every state was a one buck state. That being said, as long as you only use one tag, I could see archery, gun hunts—with season over if you tag a buck .