Released wild apples / great results

ruskbucks

5 year old buck +
A few years ago a friend pointed out a wild apple tree with about 6 apples on it. I was thrilled, I had no idea I had any wild ones. I have been planting a few grafted tree for about 10 years now and it's been somewhat of a struggle. It seems I find a few more wild apples every year now and have been releasing them. I can't believe in a year what they are producing without the competition.

Attachments

• 20240817_121551.jpg
    20240817_121551.jpg
    632.1 KB · Views: 37
  • 20240817_130024.jpg
    20240817_130024.jpg
    537.9 KB · Views: 36
  • 20240817_154139.jpg
    20240817_154139.jpg
    724.5 KB · Views: 36
  • 20240818_080052.jpg
    20240818_080052.jpg
    874.2 KB · Views: 35
  • 20240817_130033.jpg
    20240817_130033.jpg
    666.6 KB · Views: 32
  • 20240818_080702.jpg
    20240818_080702.jpg
    472.2 KB · Views: 32
  • 20240818_080536.jpg
    20240818_080536.jpg
    707 KB · Views: 33
  • 20240818_080116.jpg
    20240818_080116.jpg
    879.8 KB · Views: 33
A few years ago a friend pointed out a wild apple tree with about 6 apples on it. I was thrilled, I had no idea I had any wild ones. I have been planting a few grafted tree for about 10 years now and it's been somewhat of a struggle. It seems I find a few more wild apples every year now and have been releasing them. I can't believe in a year what they are producing without the competition.
They all are very different size, shape,and flavor. A couple of the large apples taste very good. One tree has yellow apples the size of golfballs that are a little sour. The tallest tree in the last Pic has apples the size of a cherry that are really sour. I'm sure the deer won't mind.

Those wild trees are also adapted to the environment and the disease in your area.

Maybe gather some seed from a favorite and see what you get. Definitely scion.

I wonder how wild apples escaping girdling from mice without any trunk protection?