Otter? Mink?

Tamarack

5 year old buck +
I otter know but we've never seen an otter anywhere near here. They are common further north(WI). Mink are common here though, and have gotten them on camera. Just not like this and at night. Have seen signs of beaver in the past but these seem too slim. I'm not a beaver expert either though.

Even the tail looks otter-ish.

Not beaver. Look like Otter to me. I watched a couple otter swim around in the Yellow Bank River this year during MN firearms season and I’m far West central on the border of MN and SD.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have otters on my property in Illinois. They cleaned out my pond. I get tons of pics of them dang things all the time. That is absolutely an otter!

I was just looking up maps etc on where they've been seen- nothing marked anywhere near here but there have been sporadic sightings thru-out the state. And these are just those seen, and reported. Pretty cool if they're around here. Or should I be worried, @birdog ?

If you have a pond you will not have any fish. No pond no worries.

Yep, otters. They reintroduced them here in Indiana. About as bright as reintroducing wolfs. I've been trapping them on 2 different nuisance permits. Caught 5 in last couple weeks, and I don't think I've scratched the surface. Already cleaned out 2 ponds, and working on more. Some stuff went extinct for good reason...

Personally, I like seeing 'em. Kinda cool to see them coming back.

That’s an otter as others have noted. Last year an other cleared out our pond of fish. I discovered him just before the pond froze over and did not get him removed (shot) until spring. One of the few critters that will kill fIsh for fun, not food.