New Tree Order Arrived - Should I be Concerned?

blueKYstream

5 year old buck +
I got an order of pear trees today. The roots were packed in what looked like hydrangea peddles. They still seemed somewhat moist even if all of them weren't covered. I put some wet newspaper around them. The pears had already leafed out. I was going to plant them Friday and Saturday, but it looks like rain. If it's not a washout I still will try. If I can't finish them then or perhaps Sunday depending on weather, I'll have to wait until the end of next week to plant them. Should I be concerned that they've leafed out or or storing them for a week in that method since they've broken dormancy?

Not sure how many trees you have but may consider planting them in a large pot all together. I am no expert but this is what I do when tree orders come in that I cannot plant right away.

I have 16 trees. I suppose I can try that. I'm going to try to sneak out of work early tomorrow and get a couple planted. I suppose if I can't go Friday, I will plant them up. Thanks!

I have 16 trees. I suppose I can try that. I'm going to try to sneak out of work early tomorrow and get a couple planted. I suppose if I can't go Friday, I will plant them up. Thanks!
Don’t forget to cage what you plant or all that hurry up will be wasted Cage or cover in some manner even over night

Don’t forget to cage what you plant or all that hurry up will be wasted Cage or cover in some manner even over night
Yeah, I've got some fencing and remesh as well as aluminum screen to protect them. I have a couple tubes as well if I can get them in the ground, I could put that on real quick then come back and cage it later.

Yeah, I've got some fencing and remesh as well as aluminum screen to protect them. I have a couple tubes as well if I can get them in the ground, I could put that on real quick then come back and cage it later.
Cage before an overnight for sure.