Native Hunter Apples 2023

I just went to England's Orchard where he has a bunch to try. The American persimmons had a variety of tastes. To me, I tasted mostly mandarin-orange like flavor. Some tasted like brown sugar and cinnamon. Some tasted like pumpkin with notes of cinnamon. There's a few other flavors I'm sure but that was mostly what I tasted. Some of the hybrids had a thicker consistency, bigger and tasted like honey or perhaps a mix of American flavors and honey. I compared notes with some other people there after the fact. We agreed on a few and disagreed on a few. I'm not experienced enough to know if the fruits are variable or the taste is somewhat subjective. Others can dive deep into taste but I guess I don't have a sophisticated palette.

Wow I am jealous. I have ordered from cliff and had great interactions. Would love to visit and try a variety of cultivars

It was a good time. He and his wife are very nice! I wish I had more of a chance to interact, but I wanted to keep it fun for my daughter who I took with me. That often meant going off away from the group and trying unripe persimmons she picked for me :). I was surprised at how good jujubes were. I wasn't crazy about Che fruit, but my daughter likes them. I have a few pear varieties I have yet to try too.

Apple crisp made out of Sundance. Heavenly.

View attachment 59906
Sundance is a keeper, it has such a unique taste. I picked the last two on Nov 12, cut them up with a couple of winesap and made fried pies. I may be ruined.

Sundance is a keeper, it has such a unique taste. I picked the last two on Nov 12, cut them up with a couple of winesap and made fried pies. I may be ruined.
Agreed. They are great apples.

Native, have you dried any? Ive never had enough to try.

Native, have you dried any? Ive never had enough to try.
Yes, I did, and they were as good as any others I've ever dried. To me, the tart apples make the best dried apples - especially if you add cinnamon or Carmel.