Long Term no-till maintenance

bigboreblr

5 year old buck +
Any long term maintenance, beside crop rotations. Liming every couple of years? Weed issues? disease? This can be general advice, or experience to your particular plots.

So, I am starting the no-till method up north. Started off in 2021 with spring oats, clover, and turnips. Did a clethodim spray summer 2021. Plots are pretty filled up with golden rod. Going to seed, spray, and them mow and cultipack next month. I'm in zone 3a. will put mostly rye, some oats, and clovers in. Might do tillage raddish in one spot.

some spots are very sandy with low CEC, so I might have to lime every other year possibly. I planted my largest plot from a log landing starting to weed out good with blueberries in it. Lime spread blew a tire, so I had to use a shovel to get the lime. Think adding lime during the fall rye / clover seeding will hurt? I am new to using pulverized lime, usually went pelletized because its easier to spread. I have a nice 3ft gandy drop spreader now, with a tire tube now.......... This area was a bit dangerous to blindly drive an ATV in, so I did not spray before my inital planting. Carefully ran the DR walk behind in there, scratched lightly with a spring harrow after lime and seed. Put buckwheat, rye, a bit of oats, clovers, tillage raddish and canola in there june 20th.

This year I have the gandy spreader, a 400lb lawn roller, and a 4ft old big 16 inch wheel cultipacker to tow with the ATV now. My homebrew no-till tow behind ATV seeder will be my winter project. aqn old john deere fluted roll small seed box and a drop spreader for larger seed., spiked roller and 1 row disc. Much like the firminator.