High School Intro To Timber Framing Class

Natty Bumppo

5 year old buck +
In the Nobel Prize thread Catscratch asked if I had any updated pics from my high school timber frame class. Thought I'd post some up here as I know many of you will appreciate it. I've been teaching this class for about 12 years now and this school year it was the MOST requested course offered at my high school. I am actually training a colleague who is also my buddy to teach the class with me so we can offer it to more kids. It is a unique opportunity for my students to learn a centuries old craft. No phones. No computers. Just 10 kids per class using basic hand tools to build a basic 10x12 timber frame shed.

What's really special is that the most well known timber framer in the country, Jack Sobon, is a graduate of my high school and lives 20 minutes away. He is literally the guy who wrote the book about timber framing after rediscovering it in the late 70's. He is a frequent guest lecturer in my shop and continues to write prolifically about the craft. There is also a very good chance my class is the only high school timber frame class in the country.

Here are some pics.....spring of 2022

IMG_2488.JPG

Our first small shed back in 2012 or so.....I'm the guy in the polka dot welder's cap up top.

IMG_2887.JPG

Our biggest ever building....a 12x16 we raised at a local Zip Line and Ropes business.....back in 2016.

IMG_3397.JPG

Spring of 2019....

IMG_4894.JPG

2013 or so....we raised it in the atrium of our school just before Christmas.

TF3.jpeg

A few from my shop......

IMG_3372.JPG

We built them even with masks on......

TF.jpeg

A beautiful 10x12 that we sold to a former teacher....spring of 2023.

IMG_3954 copy.jpg

Jack Sobon pays a visit......

IMG_2822.JPG