Has anyone gone lead free for gun season?

Wintomatic

5 year old buck +
We process our own deer and I have seen lead fragments that have made it into our processing over the years.
I am a vet and have seen how tiny fragments of lead get disseminated, even from a 22 shell that are visible in xrays.
I switched over to lead free ammo a long time ago, and am considering requiring all people hunting on my property to use it.
We are shotgun only in my area, and now they even have lead free rifled slugs for smooth bore shotguns.709CC1D2-7094-4554-8CBD-9DDB90F05C8F.jpeg
(Concern about lead isn’t the only reason I switched)

"Concern about lead isn't the only reason I switch"... I'm curious as to what other things you are concerned with?

I have only switched to steel for waterfowl. I still shoot lead shot for doves, quail, rabbit, etc. I very seldom shoot deer with anything other than an arrow.

I only shoot Barnes out of my muzzleloader. Lead free and excellent terminal performance. I’m shooting them out of my rifle right now too.

I’d say that beautifully petaled out slug is a big reason he swapped.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I’ve had Remington copper solids make that perfect mushroom before, and I’ve had them come apart into a hailstorm of petals tumbling through a deer. Either way they worked well.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

For bird hunting I have gone all steel. Not for the environment, but because they shoot different then lead, and if I have to shoot steel for waterfall, and I switch back to lead for pheasant, it has a learning curve. I prefer to just shoot the same. As far as slug/rifle, I use lead.

I've been shooting Hevi-shot from my turkey gun for years. When I run out, I'll probably go to TSS.

Copper bullets work well for me im shotgun amd muzzleloader as well. Haven't found one that my .308 likes. Still use some lead for birds, but also have tungsten, steel, and, bismuth shells that I use.