Grafts are breaking bud-what next?

gunfun13

5 year old buck +
Grafted 20 rootstock on St Patricks day, put them in a bucket with soil and stuck them in a basement closet that has no light and stays low 60s temp wise. About 10 days later I noticed buds swelling on a couple so I moved them to the garage which is considerably colder but gets a small amount of light. After a few days out there temps started to dip with lows near 20 forecasted, so back into the basement for the last week. Now almost all are breaking bud, and temps are forecasted to hit well below freezing at night. What's my best course of action now? Leave them in the basement? Stick them in a window upstairs? Back to the garage and hope they don't get too cold? Total newbie to this stuff.

Same exact scenario here. Until I know otherwise, mine are leaving the garage tonight, with lows in the teens, back into the basement. Don't want to risk garage temp getting below 30. If they weren't delicate little things, I'd just throw a blanket over them.

Guys - you worry too much. Go heel them in the garden because the cold temps will not hurt the graft. Unless it gets down to single digits for a couple weeks and no sap flows, then you may have an issue. If it gets above 32 or 28 and sunny, you will have plenty of sap running to the graft to heal and push buds.

Guys - you worry too much. Go heel them in the garden because the cold temps will not hurt the graft. Unless it gets down to single digits for a couple weeks and no sap flows, then you may have an issue. If it gets above 32 or 28 and sunny, you will have plenty of sap running to the graft to heal and push buds.