72” rows to make space for fall seeding

homegrownbucks

5 year old buck +
A48B952E-A6B0-4380-8B76-19689B5CBFBC.jpegJust wanted to share what I’ve been doing for a couple years. We double the corn rate and have 2 corn plates and 2 bean plates on the planter. This gives acceptable rates for the corn and beans and allows for a good amount of light and space to overseed rye and brassica for the fall, to kind of get a good smorgasbord going in one plot.

Damn good idea! Great combo of all three!!

I like that approach ... how do you overseed when corn gets tall?

If I had a drill that is basically what I would do.

I have done a similar thing with my 2 row planter (on 36" centers). Corn in one hopper beans in the other. I set the planter up for the corn since it seems to be far more sensitive than the beans. I then run so I have 2 rows of corn, 2 rows of beans....and then when the time comes I use a hand held broadcast seeder to spread brassica and cereal grains over the bean areas. It looks goofy and it can make fertilizing a little tricky (because the corn loves the nitrogen, but the beans could care less)....but just use RR seed and you are good to go. I adjust my row width to a little narrower due to the stance of my tractor tires so I am not running over crops when spraying. But it's just to feed deer so it doesn't have to be pretty....

I like that approach ... how do you overseed when corn gets tall?
I didn’t do it myself last year but I believe they did it before it was too tall. Not sure if they had to hold the seeder up high, just let it hit the leaves, or cranked real slow to narrow the area of application

3123454C-1C38-47EC-A7E8-8C12C5EA4552.jpegCouple pics from last fall, just over seeded rye7AEFE9E0-EC36-4E5F-B7F9-8FC6C0E3FBAB.jpeg

Did the beans make much for pods? Hart to tell from the picture.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk