Honey gold
Snowsweet
Noran
Wolf river
Honeygold
State fair
Yellow transparent
And norkent

Wondering what your favorite cold hardie apples are. I’m in zone 4. I have room for 10 more this year.

Jo
I have several crabs along with honey gold
Chenango strawberry
Brown betty
Honey crisp
Honey gold
Snowsweet
Noran
Wolf river
Honeygold
State fair
Yellow transparent
And norkent

Wondering what your favorite cold hardie apples are. I’m in zone 4. I have room for 10 more this year.

Some of my favorites: Jonagold, Wealthy, Macoun, Shizuka (and, of course, Honeycrisp)

I am not an apple expert, but 3 standout in MN so far (for me)--Chestnut Crab, Liberty and Common Wild Apple

Prairie Spy, Minnesota 1734, Chestnut crab, All-Winter-Hangover crab, Winter Wildlife crab, Trailman apple/crab cross, Wolf River, & Dolgo crab for cold-hardy varieties.

EDIT: Kerr, Galarina are both cold-hardy varieties too.

Last edited:
This Apple stuff is addictive. I’m going to have to get my dozer guy back out here to open up some more areas in the woods for Apple trees. I’m running out of room in my current open areas while leaving some room for food plots. I’m hoping my neighbor behind me sells me his 40 someday so I can have even more area to develop how I want.

For me Honeycrisp, Arkansas Black and DropTine crab.

Cosmic Crisp.

:emoji_wink:

Favorite: Kerr Crabapple

Next Favorites: Chestnut Crabapple and Enterprise

Honorable Mention: Dolgo Crabapple, Whitney Crabapple, Zestar, Liberty, and Galarina.

Some of these I just planted over the past few years, but based on input from others on this forum these are the trees that will be the foundation of my most recent and future orchards.

At present, dolgo, chestnut, haralson,Columbia, Kerr, and some seedlings.

Under consideration, Whitney, trailman, Noran, kindercrisp,Bastians yellow flesh, centennial, violis hanging crab,Norland, and some others I can’t remember.

Did I mention chestnut for eating as well? Hazen is also easy to grow .