All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trying to identify...

MilkweedManiac

5 year old buck +
So I’m a total newbie here. Frost-seeded switch in February, sprayed Simizine in mid March and then Gly and 2,4-d about three weeks ago. The plant pictured has started coming up in large quantities this week and it seems to have a really deep root. I just want to make sure of what this is and am asking those who are more experienced.

Attachments

• 1A380D6D-BF5A-4409-AB3E-59DD57FE064A.jpeg
    1A380D6D-BF5A-4409-AB3E-59DD57FE064A.jpeg
    203.2 KB · Views: 51
I responded to your PM...but I wanted to post here as well. I don't think that is switch....especially switch from seed. I am not real good at grasses, so I won't venture a guess as to what it is. If it had the white rib I would swear it is johnsongrass (which you don't want either). I will get a few pics of my switch and send them. The plant you have shows just seems way to mature in nature to be fresh switch in my opinion. Switchgrass likes the heat (warm soil)...it will germinate once soil temps reach 55-60 degrees but it's slow and will grow far faster in much warmer soils. If you have switch I would suspect it to be much smaller than the plant you have in the pic. Mine was drilled so it was far easier to find in the early stages.