Trimming apples now

Nova

5 year old buck +
I have a honey crisp apple that has some damage and is in very poor health. The tree is about 9 years old and has never produced a single flower. The last 2 years about this same time it looked the same. Can I trim this tree back this time of year to try and help it thru winter. I was going to thin it down pretty good then put some fertilizer spikes around the drip line. Is this a bad idea to do it now? Should I wait until late winter when it's ideal to trim apples?

I am not a professional, but my opinion is, if it is damaged, and you need to trim in to prevent more damage, or so you can seal off a wound, then trim away. Other then that, and active leaves that are on the tree, will be feeding the roots to store energy for the winter and next spring. I would say leave any un damaged living branches on the tree now, then this fall, winter after the tree goes into dormancy, then trim it. Ofcourse, if it has a disease then you would want to trim it off asap!

Do not fertilize it now. Wait until spring. If you trim back healthy growth now you are going to slow growth next season.

Do not fertilize it now. Wait until spring. If you trim back healthy growth now you are going to slow growth next season.

I do fertilize them all every spring, but why not fertilize now also?

It encourages a lot of fresh growth that may just freeze in the winter. If you do decide to fertilize, use something without N in it.

TC has it nailed. That's what I read in several university books on fruit tree care. I fertilize ours in April up until mid-May ……….. no later.

If you can pour the water to it, it may help. I had a HC looking all wilted growing on a hill out in the open...during what was a bit of a drought (just got some nice rain). 20 gallons a day (10 in the morning, 10 at night) poured into a rubbermaid tub positioned at the trunk with a 1/8" hole drilled in the bottom brought it back to lively green condition in 4 days.