All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scions for Bark (Rind) Graft

CedarSwamp

5 year old buck +
I believe I’ve seen Pencil sized scions as the recommended size for scions to do Rind Grafts. While cutting scions this morning most of what I cut was smaller as I was just cutting off the past year’s growth and couldn’t find too many that were as thick as a pencil.

Is the size of the scion a concern for Rind Grafts? This is my first time harvesting scions and grafting. I have some 15 year old Granny Smith apples that don’t do well in our zone so changing them to Zestar, Yellow Transparent, and Eves Delight. Harvesting them off trees that have done well in our area.

I've done hundreds of bark grafts but hey are all with persimmons. Perhaps others can provide better advice for apples specifically. For persimmons, I often use scions that are significantly smaller than pencil sided with no problem. Persimmons that have not been under cultivation long generally don't have much new wood that is pencil sized. The keys for bark grafting persimmons are:

1. Timing - The tree must be leafing out and the sap running well. This allows the bark to slip easily.
  2. Pressure - Unlike other grafts that rely on the alignment of cambium, bark grafts want a little pressure. I like electrical tape for persimmons because it has a little stretch.
  3. Protecting the wound from the elements - Doc Farwell's works well.
  4. Keeping the scions from drying out - I wrap them with Parafilm-M before grafting. I use aluminum foil to build a sun shield for the south side.
  5. Removing water sprouts from below the graft every week or so.