New to me Disc Harrow

Victor Van Meter

5 year old buck +
Did some trading yesterday for a 3pt 8' disc harrow. I have zero experience with discs and this one was bigger than what I had intended to use, but the trade was offered, so I accepted. A couple of the discs on the ends are loose and the owner said to take the slack out I would need to add washers to the axle nut. I am hoping he was being truthful and this thing doesn't fly apart the first time I try to use it.

VV

I think the sellers advise about the washers will work now getting those axel nuts off will be the challenge. Make sure you grease all fittings and good luck!

I think the sellers advise about the washers will work now getting those axel nuts off will be the challenge. Make sure you grease all fittings and good luck!
Yeah, they look pretty seized up. I will try to go against my nature and be patient with them and take my time working them off. I have been looking around online and seems the going advice is a pipe wrench with a cheater bar or pipe.

Thanks for the advice on the grease.

VV

Yeah, they look pretty seized up. I will try to go against my nature and be patient with them and take my time working them off. I have been looking around online and seems the going advice is a pipe wrench with a cheater bar or pipe.

Thanks for the advice on the grease.

VV
I've found Mistic Metal Mover to work real well loosening rusted bolts, put it on and let it sit overnight then give it a try.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MISTIC-MET...119159?hash=item4d4c367537:g:pxoAAOSwy0JaDEeT

I've found Mistic Metal Mover to work real well loosening rusted bolts, put it on and let it sit overnight then give it a try.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MISTIC-MET...119159?hash=item4d4c367537:g:pxoAAOSwy0JaDEeT

If that doesn’t work dump some break fluid on them and let them sit. Just don’t get it on auto paint or any paint you like!

Thanks for the tips guys.

VV