Native Grass Fall Planting Question

MNAaron

5 year old buck +
I am planning on doing a fall dormant seeding of 12 acres of NWSG this fall. I am planting it into a thick stand of timothy grass. Here is what I am proposing to do however looking for suggestions since I have never done this before.

Sometime in Sept. spray area with roundup to kill cool season grasses (after they have their cool season growth) and then once grasses are dry and dead burn it to remove the thatch. Seed it once the soil temp gets low enough. I can probably burn it myself if rest of the area is still green. If not will need fire department help.

Does this sound like a decent plan? Any suggestions or comments? What am I missing?

Are you going to drill them or top seed? Also, what is behind your choice to plant NWSGs? I ask because I've found that the further you get into MN, WI, MI the less benefit NWSGs offer to deer.

Meyer Hunting Land A.JPG
Are you going to drill them or top seed? Also, what is behind your choice to plant NWSGs? I ask because I've found that the further you get into MN, WI, MI the less benefit NWSGs offer to deer.
We are using a no till drill. We want to plant the NWSGs in this area since this will be where we access stands. I was assuming the deer will not use this area much and it would be good for fawning and turkeys. Plus we are making money by having it in EQIP. Helps pay the taxes.

Here is a map. That will probably help you Steve.

Last edited:
I did a spring crp planting and I drilled oats with the NWSG as a cover crop. Could you add fall rye so it has some protection come spring. I would be worried about spring melt/rains washing areas out if there is any slope.

Last edited:
I'll strongly suggest oust

3yrs ago I planted a switch grass field, I sprayed it 3 times during the summer/fall before planting and once early on in the spring after frost seeding it. I didn't use Oust but I wish I would have for a little extra long term help.