All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Improving very sandy soil

Ben Glantz

5 year old buck +
Hello Guys and Gals,

I am fairly new to food plotting, been doing it for 6-7 years. I like trying new things and improving the soil, habitat and critters that live on the land.

I have a couple food plots that are in some very sandy soil. The PH is around 5.8-6.0, organic matter to around 1%.

Right now I have fall planted winter rye, white and red clover growing in the plots. 2 weeks ago I broadcast 100lbs of oats and 10lbs of red clover to help fill in the bare spots and help with weed suppression(2 plots for a total of 1 acre). 5 years ago this plot was sandburs and a creeping grass kind of like fescue.

Is there a downside to mowing the plots or should I just let everything grow until July when I will mow it and either disc it or just broadcast and roll new seeds into the plot. I am thinking that letting it grow will add more organic matter to the soil, increase root production and thatch from the current growth.

I would not till it if you have really sandy soil, either mowing the rye or rolling the rye after broadcasting seed into it would be the way I would go. Many ways you can go with rye after it has matured, July/Aug you can roll/mow it and plant a brassica mix, you can let it go until early fall and plant rye, oats, sunflowers after rolling/mowing. You can let it go have a clover plot, you can clip the rye and clover and have it reseed itself and have the same plot. I would think holding moisture would be your number one priority so no tilling, just rolling or mowing.

Last edited:
Thank you for the info and ideas!