I think I failed.....

j-bird

I think my first attempt at grafting has failed. I think I grafted too early. I had a break in the weather a few weeks back (late Feb) and decide to try my had at grafting some apple to a crabapple I have. I have never done this before so I really didn't expect overwhelming success.....but.....I think I got a total failure. This was more to be a learning experience than anything - the failed grafts are no loss, I just need to learn how to graft...

As you can see the crabapple tree is waking up, yet my grafts show no signs of life. The other apple trees that these grafts where taken from are starting to wake up as well. Now maybe I am expecting too much, but I would have thought the grafted parts would have "woken-up" the same time as the rest of the tree or at least when the other apples did. Mine appears to not be the case...... I am also seeing freeze warning and the like as well for tonight so I am fearful of what that will do as well. It has been a crazy spring here thus far.

Did I graft too soon?
Are the pieces I grafted too big/long?
Is there still any chance of success?

fail.jpg

It’s kind of hard to tell from the pic. I would give it a little more time yet, I don’t write them off as a fail until they get wrinkley looking.

Your sizes of scions look OK, were they last years new growth?

Scratch a scion or two so see if there is still green cambium. If so, be patient.

I think you did graft too soon. I'd have waited until they were pushing growth and past likely last hard frost to graft these. But that don't mean these won't take.

It’s kind of hard to tell from the pic. I would give it a little more time yet, I don’t write them off as a fail until they get wrinkley looking.

Your sizes of scions look OK, were they last years new growth?
Yes - I used the tips of what grew last year.

Scratch a scion or two so see if there is still green cambium. If so, be patient.