All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Grafted, now what?

Red

5 year old buck +
I'm only in my second year of grafting so there is still a lot to learn.
I've got 39 apples grafted this year and all are showing signs of life (although Dolgo, Northern Spy and Black Oxford are WAY behind the others). I'm still hardening them off before getting them into the nursery. I hope to get them replanted next week.
I have some questions about pruning new grafts and if I should do that now or after they are planted in the nursery.
I've pruned the root stock down to 1 nurse branch but on many of them I already have 6" of growth and it is overtaking the graft. Do I leave it, widen the crotch angle so it's not competing with the scion or prune it?
On the scion, I have 2 buds/shoots on most. On ones that are growing strong, should I prune that back to 1 yet?
Thanks20160418_Apples_001.JPG

Those look really good, looks like GRIN scions. I'm a novice as well so can't offer much advise but have similar questions.

How long ago did you graft them?

I grafted about 4 weeks ago and have half the new growth that you have.

As soon as the scions showed some promise I cut the rootstock shoots right off and they responded nicely. Other folks have said they keep the rootstock shoots pruned until they know for sure the scion didn't make it.

Nice job! I remove all the root stock leaves as the appear. They serve no function at this point, besides slowing down the growth of your grafts. It might just be me but I would get those planted if frost isnt in the forecast. Otherwise I would think you are going to get some transplant shock, dont let them dry out when replanting them.

Thanks for the feedback.